SDCC has been a regular organiser of Car Rallies in SA since the 1960's. Events have been run mostly in the Fleurieu Peninsula, including the Kuitpo Forest and Second Valley Forest areas as well as events based in Kangarilla, Strathalbyn, Peake, Ashbourne, Meadows and Yankalilla.

SDCC Life Member Bob Whyatt was pivotal in bringing the Australian Rally Championship back to South Australia when the Adelaide Rally was observed as a qualifying round of the ARC in 2000.

From this point onwards SDCC ran, the President's Trophy Trail in Peake, the Presidents Trophy Rally out of Ashbourne, The Southern Rally out of Kangarilla & Yankalilla, The Kuitpo Forest rally, then the Southern Rally again from the Second Valley Forest until 2018, when the use of the forest was no longer supported by ForestrySA in that area.

At this stage many SDCC Members were particularly active in Ultimate Motorsport Events (UME) and they took over the running of the State's ARC round, the Adelaide Hills Rally. This massive event is run by volunteers from all clubs, but still has a strong representation from SDCC. 

SDCC will continue to look at opportunities in our local area of the Mid Murray Council area, but in the meantime we are committed to grow the sport through the grassroots level and provide an environment to support up-and-coming rally stars.

Rally events are always looking for officials, who get a chance to get up close and be a critical part of what makes a successful, exciting and safe event. But be careful, you'll get hooked on the adventure.....

2005 Kuitpo Rally podiumDraft 2017 event logo